Archive for September 8, 2008

Bathing beauties.

Several weeks ago (yes, I am that far behind on my posts – summertime slacking), I purchased a basket of these gorgeous purple baby artichokes on my way out of the farmer’s market simply because they were too pretty to resist. I don’t cook artichokes all that often because the preparation seems so labor-intensive, but these babies were crying out to me, and the gazillion other bags of produce I was already holding couldn’t stop me from buying them. I took them home, trimmed them oh-so-slightly, and peeled away the few tough outer leaves (Agh! Such waste! It was a travesty to toss them away, but I didn’t know what else to do with them). They then relaxed in a fragrant lemon juice and water bath, a brief beauty treatment to help maintain their lovely-hued complexion before hittin’ the hot tub.

Not that all this pampering mattered in the end; once cooked, the vibrant color faded away. I followed this recipe for preparing them and served it alongside crispy chicken cutlets. Scrumptious.